Daddies

I found this blog post recently.
It made me think about my own daddy- who would have celebrated his birthday today, Happy Heavenly bday Daddy!
The post also made me think of the type of Daddy Butthead will be.

Here is the post:
You Just Broke Your Child

The blogger brings up very good points! I particularly love the following points:

-“A child is what you tell them they are.” If you constantly tell them they are stupid or careless… that is what they will believe!

-“Do you not realise that your kids are going to make mistakes?” Belittling them over these mistakes tears down their self confidence.

-Tell and show them you love them

-Take joy in their questions and in every little quirk.

-Teach good gender roles! Who cares if your son wears pink or your daughter wants hotwheels!

All these things remind me how lucky I was to have an awesome Daddy!

image

My Daddy did all these things to nurture and help me grow. He taught me how I should be treated by treating my Mom like gold. He LOVED her like crazy. He let me know how special I was, that I was smart and I could use my intellect to conquer problems.

My Dad did not limit me because I was a girl. He taught me to fish, he let me stand on his tool box and watch him work on our cars. He played wiffle ball with me, even though I spun like a top trying to hit his pitches. He passed on to me a love of racing and to this day, I know more about cars than Butthead.

He took time with me. Even if it was just letting me sit at his workbench with him as he drafted designs for work. Allowing me to be at his side was enough. I worshiped the ground he walked on. My Daddy will always be my hero.

I know our kids will see Butthead the same way. I so look forward to that. He is going to be an amazing Daddy! He is a big kid himself! He has no problem playing Legos with Turkey (which he actually did Friday night… he was proud of the racecar he made). Seeing him play with Turkey and aww and coo at little man makes me so excited for the day I can give him a child!

I know he will instill such confidence and wisdom in them. He will goof off and be silly with them too. He will be so amazing! That is so important! Knowing that your significant other will be a great parent is one of the most heartening things you can know.

What did you think of the article? Let me know! ♡

image

3 thoughts on “Daddies

  1. Reblogged this on veerachavan and commented:
    This was too sweet to not re-blog :’)
    I love u Dadda.. Even though i don’t say it too offen and chances are you wont read this post either…given that you dont use any social networking site except email :’) but that’s OK.

    Like

Leave a Reply

