Halloween

I love Halloween!

Maybe I am just a big kid, but I LOVE it. I am kinda disappointed my scary post didn’t get an overwhelming approval. I could write stories like that all day! It’s so fun! But, I digress.

Halloween- the most awesome holiday (in my opinion) so often gets overshadowed by the ever expanding Christmas season. I love Christmas too, but my gosh… I DO NOT want to see Santa and his cheery little minions in SEPTEMBER/OCTOBER!

Seriously! Even one of my neighbors has already decorated their house for Christmas! No kidding! BEFORE HALLOWEEN! Imagine this scene, if you will… trick or treating with your kids. You approach the next house and your kid asks “mommy, why is Santa in this yard!? Is Santa scary?”

I know this will happen! Poor kids! These people will confuse all the littles! And you can’t exactly look at Jr and say- “Sorry honey, some people are morons!” Hmph. Again… I digress.

So, Mommies! I have a question.
How many of you still do the good old fashioned Trick or Treat? House to house like in the good ol days? Bestie and I argued over this last year. I was complaining about “Trunk or Treating” and other various cop-outs that parents do now a days.  She gave me the dreaded… “You’ll understand…” response. Pft.

I want more opinions.
Trunk or Treat– “better and safer” or “wussification cop-out?”

image

4 thoughts on “Halloween

  1. We go house to house as well. We live in a small rural neighbordhood that goes all out for Halloween for our kids and the rest of the community (otherwise people would have to drive a few minutes between houses).

    And ditto on the Christmas stuff! I saw that the lawn and garden area of Walmart was taken over by Christmas decorations the other day. Between that and Black Friday shopping taking over Christmas, I’ve about had enough!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not a mommy but I only see trunk or treats in my future. They are safer, it’s an enclosed area, and I know everyone giving candy to my children. There are too many sickos out there these days for me to trust strangers to give my kids anything!!!! Strictly my opinion and again I’m not a mom…yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

