In Another’s Words

I found another blog to follow.

Plus Size Birth
Here is the article that I will be speaking of:
How Much Respect Do Fat Women Deserve?

It is a good question. The author discusses the fact that in Labor and Delivery, plus sized women get very little respect. Criticized, made fun of and left to feel like failures, PSW are often called “C-section Walking” according to this blog post. I can see the trend. Of everyone around me who have had children, more PSW are pressured into giving up and having a section. I am afraid to be in that statistic.

This blog has also landed me into a strange area. My goal is to *not* be plus sized before, during and after my pregnancy. But what constitutes plus size? How will my body react to my weight loss? Will my target weight correspond to being “non-plus size”? All that leads me to the question- will I ever shake the stigma of being plus size?

As far as respect goes, I’ve long gotten past that. Well, maybe not past, but “used to” it. Shopping for clothes is my least favorite activity. I see the looks when I follow my best friend into certain shops. The internal scream of frustration when flipping to the back of the clothing rack and it ends at a large. Holding up an item that says it’s XL but scoffing because it looks like toddler clothing. The feeling of tears burning the back of my eyelids as that cute pair of jeans only comes up to, but not over my thighs.

If you ask me, people need not be harsh or judging toward PSW. We judge and demean ourselves enough as it is. When I put that pair of jeans back on the rack, I don’t need your stare that says “I knew that wouldn’t fit.” What you didn’t know is that it didn’t take me 10 mins to peel out of the jeans. It took 10 mins for my face to return to a normal, non tear stained state.

I’ve strayed a bit. My objective here is to: 1. Give my perspective and 2. Get other’s perspective.  Do you agree with me? Agree with the other blog? How do you feel? Plus sizes and not. Gimme thoughts below! Til next time! ā™„

image

3 thoughts on “In Another’s Words

  1. I read that blog, and it’s absolutely awful that they treat plus sized women different in L&D just based on their size…I mean I could understand having a cesarean based on size if a woman was so large that she literally physically was not able to labor properly. And it was SHOWN that she wasn’t able. But honestly, most women do AT LEAST end up plus sized while pregnant. I was looking through this website: http://www.birthdiaries.com/diary/
    and looking at all of the new moms….and seriously I only recall one woman who wouldn’t be considered “plus sized”.
    And you know what? They did just-freaking-fine.
    Don’t give in to a c-section unless you either WANT TO or if it’s a medical emergency. Seriously. You may consider seeing a midwife instead of an OB, actually because they’re more readily acceptable of natural births, big momma or not! šŸ™‚
    Either way, considering you’re uncomfortable with your weight, I’m happy to hear that it’s something you’re working on so that YOU can be happy!!
    I’m currently training a friend of mine whose goal is weight loss, and I so wish you lived nearby then I could totally help you out and cheer you on in your journey!!! šŸ˜€
    It’s okay though. šŸ™‚ I’ll just cheer you on all the way over here lol.

    And you know what? If you change your mind and just say “FUCK IT. I DON’T CARE. I’M A PLUS SIZED WOMAN AND I’M GOING TO HAVE A BABY GOD DAMMIT, THIS IS MY BODY. THIS IS HOW IT IS. AND YOU CAN ALL SUCK IT.” Then I’ll still be here cheering you on. šŸ˜€

    Like

    • Aww ā™” Thank you! I’m going to do my best to be as healthy as possible, but you are right… if it comes down to it, I’m going to have kids either way! I plan on starting my health/exercise posts soon, please do chime in. If you have advice or if I’m doing something wrong, please tell me. I’m open to constructive criticism! šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • Of course!! I will absolutely help you out!!! ^_^ And seriously if you have any questions or anything, feel free to ask me! And actually, I have never been on board with any of those “shakes” programs or any of that crap, it all seems like a load of bs to me, but a friend of mine did the herbalife thing to get in shape for her wedding…
        She got her wedding dress down from a size 10 to a size 0.
        I’m not joking, it was absolutely crazy. And she wasn’t even working out, she was just following the meal plan they gave her! So I mean, if you would be willing to look into that, it can help make a huge difference. šŸ™‚ If you want, I can give you her contact info if you have any questions, because she sells the stuff now.
        Of course you don’t have to buy from her, they’re totally not pushy for sales. šŸ™‚ But yeah.
        I’m excited for you, yayyyy!!! ^_^

        Like

Leave a Reply

